Chora

Why Chora?

Chora, the capital of the island is situated inland, 5 kilometers from the harbour of Kamariotissa.

It constitutes the ideal location to lodge because it is central, enabling visitors to explore the whole island. Heading towards the north side of the island you come across the following attractions respectively along the length of the coast: the ancient town of Paliapoli, then the lush green resort of Therma with the thermal baths, the waterfalls and natural rock carved pools “vathres”, next the Fonia canyon and finally, at the end of the road, the most northerly beach of the island, Kipos.

With Chora, once again, as a starting point and heading towards the south side of the island you find the costal Lakomma, the mountain village of Prophitis Elias for traditional goat, the dramatically situated church of the Miraculous Panagia Kremniotissa (which literally means hanging from the clifts) and the only sandy beach, Pahia Ammos.

However, Chora also constitutes an ideal destination in itself. Amphitheatrically built, it has stood since medieval times in the foothills of mountain Saos, surrounded by pine forest and flanked by two strongholds; the Vriho, a prehistoric acropolis to the west, and the Tower of the Gatteluzi (1300 -1400) to the east. Having been designated a traditional and heritage settlement since 1978, the special architectural character has been preserved with the stone-built houses, tiled roofs, the remaining traditional terrace-roofs and the wood-clad houses with their “tsatmas” (the local architecture). The picturesque, winding, cobbled streets invite the visitor to discover them, especially in the summer when they are bustling with life as the “kafenia”, little taverns, café–bars and souvenir shops offer to both locals and visitors unforgettable enjoyment.

Futhermore, it is worth visiting the ruins of the Tower of the Gatulluzi which is illuminated in the evenings, while balancing on the edge of a huge rock at the entrance to the village, offering an enchanting view. The church of Koimiseos of Theotokou (1875) where the holy remains of “The Five Sacred Martyrs of Samothraki” are kept is also well-worth a visit. Finally, the Folk Museum offers a look at the Samothraki of the past, providing an opportunity to see old farming tools, looms, the “Traditional Samothracian housekeeping”: a one-room space where kitchen, living room and bedroom are combined, wooden “mesandres”, “marhamades”, traditional costumes, handcrafted trunks, and much more. Moreover, the museum is housed in a two-storey lord’s house from the beginning of the 20th century.

Availability and bookings